Schedule


MONDAY, NOVEMBER 29

9:30 – 9:50 (EST), 15:30 – 15:50 (CET), 20:00 – 20:20 (IST)

Opening of the Conference: Welcome and Introductions


9:50 – 10:00 (EST), 15:50 – 16:00 (CET), 20:20 – 20:30 (IST)

Break


10:00 – 11:00 (EST), 16:00 – 17:00 (CET), 20:30 – 21:30 (IST)

Panel 1: Mobility and Urban Governance
Mukta Naik: Why are Indian cities failing rural-urban migrants? Examining institutional and governance barriers in social welfare delivery.
Janina Stürner-Siovitz: Partnerships for urban migration governance in African intermediary cities. 
Moderator: Randall Hansen


11:00 – 11:10 (EST), 17:00 – 17:10 (CET), 21:30 – 21:40 (IST)

Break


11:10 – 12:10 (EST), 17:10 – 18:10 (CET), 21:40 – 22:40 (IST)

Panel 2: Cities, Migration and Contentious Politics
Loren Landau: Co-Authoring exclusion: xenophobic violence and South Africa’s spatial politics.
Diana Zacca Thomaz: The eviction room: seeing urban citizenship through migration and housing.
Moderator: Ayse Caglar


TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 30

9:00 – 10:00 (EST), 15:00 – 16:00 (CET), 19:30 – 20:30 (IST)

Panel 3: Refugees and Cities
Nicholas Maple: The peripheral role of the global refugee regime in urban refugee policy in Southern Africa.
Nassim Najidi & Hervé Nicolle: The response of Afghan urban neighborhoods and cities globally to Afghan displacement.
Moderator: Ahmet Içduygu


10:00 – 10:10 (EST), 16:00 – 16:10 (CET), 20:30 – 20:40 (IST)

Break


10:10 – 11:10 (EST), 16:10 – 17:10 (CET), 20:40 – 21:40 (IST)

Panel 4: Digital Citizenship in the Post-Pandemic Urban Realm
Federico Tomasello: Introduction to the special issue of Citizenship Studies – Digital Citizenship in the Post-Pandemic Urban Realm.
Naomi Hanakata & Filippo Bignami: Platform Urbanization: understanding urban citizenship through concrete projects of urban development.
Igor Calzada: Emerging digital citizenship regimes: pandemic, algorithmic, liquid, metropolitan, and stateless citizenships.
Moderator: Liav Orgad


11:10 – 11:20 (EST), 17:10 – 17:20 (CET), 21:40 – 21:50 (IST)

Break


11:20 – 12:20 (EST), 17:20 – 18:20 (CET), 21:50 – 22:50 (IST)

Panel 5: Cities and Environmental Mobility
Sarah Rosengaertner: Framing Cities’ Role on Climate and Migration.  
Karen Jacobsen & Marina Lazitec: “Hunker Down” orders are not enough: internal climate-related displacement in the US and its impact.
Moderator: Alex Aleinikoff


WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 1

9:00 – 10:00 (EST), 15:00 – 16:00 (CET), 19:30 – 20:30 (IST)

Panel 6: New Narratives on Cities and Mobility
Valeria Castelli & Giulia Sbaffi: Collaboration as Practice for Antiracism in Education: Dagmawi Yimer’s Participatory Video Workshops in Verona
Gianluca Gatta: Migration, Hospitality, and Spatial Exploration: The case of the Museum of the Hospitality Act in Rome (Mad’O).
Moderator: Valeria Castelli


10:00 – 10:10 (EST), 16:00 – 16:10 (CET), 20:30 – 20:40 (IST)

Break


10:10 – 11:10 (EST), 16:10 – 17:10 (CET), 20:40 – 21:40 (IST)

Panel 7: Cities and Migration in Global Networks
Fatima Fernandez: Cooperation through the Mediterranean City to City Migration (MC2CM) project and the Mayor’s Mechanism at UCLG.
Michael Cohen: Cities, Migration and the Need for Infrastructure for Distribution.
Moderator: Colleen Thouez


11:10 – 11:20 (EST), 17:10 – 17:20 (CET), 21:40 – 21:50 (IST)

Closing Remarks

Search OpenEdition Search

You will be redirected to OpenEdition Search